Vytautas Magnus University (Lithuania)

Vytautas Magnus University (VMU) is a comprehensive university located in Kaunas, Lithuania. It was established in 1922 and closed in 1950, before being re-established in 1989. VMU has a reputation for being open to different forms of cooperation, both nationally and internationally, in order to expand its knowledge and respond to current issues in the political, economic, and socio-cultural environment. Recently, VMU has been actively involved in the process of merging higher education institutions in Lithuania, resulting in the formation of VMU as the second largest comprehensive university in the country. The Department of Public Communications at the Faculty of Political Science and Diplomacy is responsible for the implementation of the BECID project. The department is known for its advanced journalism and media/communications education and research, and has expertise in media systemic transformations, journalism and media cultures, technological modernizations, journalistic professionalism, media policy and governance, and media and information literacy. In 2018, the department was awarded the title of the UNESCO Chair on Media and Information Literacy for Inclusive Knowledge Societies.

Representatives: Rūta Vainauskaitė, Auksė Balčytienė, Kristina Juraitė, Ignas Kalpokas, Darius Amilevičius, Andrius Utka, Dmytro Iarovyi, Darius Remeika, Patricija Naujanytė.